Utah Credit Freeze Instructions
- How do I add a credit freeze?
To place a freeze, you must write to each of the three credit bureaus. Credit bureaus charge a “reasonable” fee, unless the fee is waived because you are a victim. To prove you are a victim and avoid fees, you must send a copy of a police report to the credit bureaus. Write to the three addresses below and include the information that follows:
Equifax Security Freeze P.O. Box 105788 Atlanta, GA 30348
Experian Security Freeze P.O. Box 9554 Allen, TX 75013
Trans Union Security Freeze P.O. Box 6790 Fullerton, CA 92834-6790
- Send a letter by certified mail
- Include a copy of either the police report, investigative report, or complaint to a law enforcement agency concerning identity theft
- Provide your full name (including middle initial as well as Jr., Sr., II, III, etc.,) address, Social Security number, and date of birth
- If you have moved in the past 5 years, supply the addresses where you have lived over the prior 5 years
- Provide proof of current address such as a current utility bill or phone bill
- Send a photocopy of a government issued identification card (state driver’s license or ID card, military identification, etc.)
- Provide payment by check, money order, or credit card (Visa, Master Card, American Express or Discover cards only.)
- How much will it cost?
- Utah’s law allows credit bureaus to charge “reasonable fees” without stating an actual amount.
Background on Credit Freeze
If you are a resident of Utah, you have the right as of September 1, 2008 to place a credit freeze on your credit report if you are a victim of identity theft who has filed a police, investigative report, or complaint to a law enforcement agency concerning identity theft. A Credit Freeze will prevent access to your credit report, allowing you to control which companies may see your credit report. However, there are certain exemptions to the Credit Freeze allowed by state law that allows companies to view your report even though it is frozen.